To use WordPress.com or WordPress.org

WordPress.com or WordPress.org to blog?

It’s not necessary for me to state the necessity for someone in PR to blog. However, I find myself divided between the platform to use

I’m bias. I love WordPress. To me, Blogger lacks the interface and Tumblr is for people that personally blog (and not for business)

WordPress.org: On the one hand, I want to fully be in control of my fate, hence http://andyclinkman.com . I bought the domain and I can control my fate. I can advertise (though trying to grab a quick buck is worthless to me… blog idea…) and I can make the site fully accessible. However, I do not get the same reach as my wordpress.com blog of https://aclinkman.wordpress.com

WordPress.com: I’ll have much less control and I will need to pay even more a month. I already have http://andyclinkman.com and changing the domain would be a headache. I like having a web site over just a blog. Plus, my current layout on wordpress.com looks awful

My decision will probably be something closer to domain mapping, taking my current wordpress.com blog and linking it to my website. I may buy a theme update as a way to make it more appealing, but not yet

This is probably my worst blog post ever, but it’s a debate i’m sure that others have

Leave a Reply

