Celebrities and Businesses Fail on Twitter

The worst social media users are the celebrities, athletes, and large businesses. Accounts such as Stephen Colbert’s (see @StephenatHome) are some of the worst.

This is why I was so surprised to receive  a message from Chobani, the Greek Yogurt Company. I tweeted:

and they responded. While the message was probably a pre-written response, it made me feel a connection. And guess what happened afterwards: Chobani started following me without my initial follow.

Many celebrities, athletes, and businesses miss this very obvious opportunity. I will like you more if you follow or interact with me.

What did this interaction do for @Chobani?
They’ve solidified a future customer. I tweet all the time about nutrition, now guess which yogurt I’ll be speaking about?

Conversely, I’ve stopped following many celebrities due to their painful use of Twitter. I hope that these people do not have social media advisors, however I know they do. Take for example, @BarackObama

Barack Obama Klout

His account, initially looks really good. He’s a very influential person with over 11 million followers, he has a great Klout score, the account updates a lot, and he is following a large amount of people.

However, CelebrityTweets.com shows a different side of the story. In fact, Obama’s account is following just over 6% of followers. Plus, we know that very few of these tweets originate from the Commander in Chief (I doubt many of us would like to hear that Obama is tweeting when he should be working).

So what is his campaign agency thinking? I’m not sure. I have a bunch of respect for them due to their success in the 2008 elections, but the opportunity here is obvious. If you follow back a large percentage of people, these people will think of you positively. A simple response of “Thank You” will make the day of start-struck twitter users.

If you have a large following on twitter, you have an opportunity to reach out to your followers, don’t waste it.

Just look at @KatyPerry on Twitter 

The account follows 82 people. WHAT?! Who thought that alienating your population of supporters is a good idea? People obviously like her, but how cool would it be if she followed her users back and offered a coupon for $5 off one of her concerts? Can you say ridiculous amounts of profit? If she or her PR staff responded to people, she would undoubtedly gain even more fans. All it takes is a single worker or program to follow back legitimate followers. What do these brands have to lose?

And finally for businesses. You are in this to make money. Say I follow Best Buy, it’s obvious that I want to buy something from there.

Wouldn’t it make a ton of sense to both A. Follow and B. Tweet to people that are following me? This will stimulate business growth! Best Buy has an excellent @TwelpForce for Customer Service, but somehow Best Buy Marketing doesn’t understand it’s potential.

Have you seen any examples of awesome businesses on Twitter?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Celebrities and Businesses Fail on Twitter

  1. Great post Andrew! My personal best experiences with large brands on Twitter have been with organizations. I wrote a blog post about an organization called Nothing But Nets that helps families in Africa prevent Malaria. They immediately wrote me on Twitter saying how much they enjoyed the article and thanking me. I ended up making a donation to their cause. I think a lot of times people forget the purpose of Twitter and that at the end of the day people want you to talk with them not at them.

    One of my worst Twitter experiences has been with Daily Mail in the UK. I wrote them several times to tell them their articles had mistakes in them with no response. I also wrote PETA telling them my views about one of their campaigns. They seem to have a very active Twitter presence when people write positive things about their company but no damage control.

  2. Thanks very much for the response! It seems so obvious to me to have an active business responding to current and potential customers. If I dislike a product, I am more likely to write or tweet about it. That gives a business a golden opportunity to both respond and react, which will at least cause me to reconsider

    Also, i’m switching my account over to http://andyclinkman.com. Trying to find a way to allow wordpress.com to work on my wordpress.org blog. May end up staying here for the blogging

Leave a Reply

