When Google and Social Media Mislead

Last night, as I occasionally do, I searched  for my name “Andrew Clinkman”. Check the search results!

What I found was that my dear cousin, Andrew Clinkman (Andrew 2.0 for convenience), had the second listing on the page. So, for all of those HR reps out there searching, I am not the jazz guitarist that Myspace says I am. I am that LinkedIn, Twitter, WordPress, Facebook account, just not Myspace.

If you are looking for the guitarist, Andrew Clinkman Rocking Out

I’m generally lucky when it comes to Google searches. There are very few Clinkmans in the world, and, as I mentioned, I am not the guitarist studying at New England Conservatory. There is another person competing for the Best Andrew Clinkman title!

This leads me to the idea of how Google and Social Media can lead people astray. I am from the Boston area and a more specific search for Andrew Clinkman and Boston would bring up Andrew 2.0 jamming away on the guitar. And he is my only name competition!

Yesterday, I opened Yahoo up to read that a waitress in Seattle received a $0.00 tip and a message that read “P.S You could stand to loose a few pounds.” The culprit, some man named Andrew Meyer (a normally very regal first name).

Yahoo Tip Story

Andrew Meyers around the Seattle area were then bombarded with inflammatory messages. Yahoo writes, “When liberal sex advice columnist Dan Savage caught wind of the incident, he scolded the wrong Andrew Meyer on his blog.”

I think to myself, how often do I, once I hear of a crime in my area, shoot right to Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google+ to do my own undercover operations?

The moral of this story: I am thankful to share a name with my talented cousin. Additionally, when acting as an undercover cop, double-check your research. The Andrew Meyers of the world weren’t so lucky. I don’t condone writing defamatory remarks on a receipt or making judgments of appearance, but make sure you have the right person.

It may be a good idea to go to Google and search your name. Knowing your brand and what is said about someone sharing the same “brand name” is important. Have you Googled your name?

Thoughts? Comments? Criticisms?

Leave a Reply

