Back at home… the cleaning process

Arriving back into the real world from the fake world of college is always a challenge. You must “put up” with your parents again as you learn to live in their household. The rules include contributing to the well-being of the house through chores, sleeping and waking at respectable hours, and putting the toilet seat down. Regardless of whether you are 18 or 81, living with your parents again brings back good and painful memories.

This challenge and blessing of seeing my parents daily as I live in their house as an unemployed member of society is my future for a while.

As I previously mentioned, I am a recent graduate of Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. Arriving back home, I made the decision to organize my life, by removing the junk from it and seeking to improve my person daily. My first challenge: my childhood desk.

I don’t know where or when I collected this motley assortment of pens, pencils, multicolored notebooks, little novels that I began writing as a child and which lay incomplete, and other assorted knickknacks, but I question what I was thinking. What was my most cherished and worthless trinket? A mini-skateboard, which I thought I was so awesome for owning. While I couldn’t do a kick flip on an actual board, I thought that a finger kick flip would be easier (I couldn’t do that, either).

As I went through my many old bank statements of an account which has long been closed out, I was able to look at many of my old purchases of once-novel pieces of technology. The purchase of a laptop with Windows XP capabilities now looks obsolete. Bank statements and old receipts remind me of where I was and where I am now.

In my pen drawer, I found hundreds of pens and pencils, more than I undoubtedly would be able to use in my lifetime. While pencils with troll figurines on the tops are ideal as an eight year old, what would people think of me using that pencil today? Child at heart or immature individual?

I will undoubtedly find pleasant memories and scars of the past as I continue to clean my room. Perhaps, I will find that Zapdos holographic Pokemon card that I lost when I was ten or significant amount of money in a blank envelope; all I know is that I have plenty of time to clean my room as an unemployed member of society. As a child, I saved all of my possessions in hopes that once I was rich and famous people would buy my old belongings and sell them on eBay for the countless millions. While this dream will assuredly still happen, for the time being I need to focus on cleaning my room!

Leave a Reply

